Bugs Indie Music Chart w53

One peculiar thing about Korean music, the non kpop variety at least, is that December is the best month for new music. Not that it’s the month of top quantity, but it’s definitely the month of top quality releases. Maybe it’s just me, but I usually find something to really, really like among December releases. This week I’ve spotted two newcomers on Bugs’ indie chart that seem particularly promising – a long (and I do mean long) awaited return, and a new name altogether.

Bugs Indie TOP10 – January 3, 2010
1. Super Kidd – 내 맘대로 [MV]
2. Lazybone – 후따후따 네볼라따 [MV]
3. Lucid Fall – 고등어
4. DP12월, 겨울, 바다 (with Ha Neul Hae)
5. GuyzMonologue
6. 9 and the Numbers – 말해주세요 [Hyang]
7. RubylightLove, On! (album ver.) (feat. Ji-hoon) [single ver. MV]
8. Lucid Fall – 평범한 사람
9. Lucid Fall – 레미제라블 Part 1
10. Loose MistyFree Star

The new additions to the TOP100 list are the following:
26. Cosmos – 두번째 아침 [@ Kuchu Camp]
59. Eloise49 [@ Club Bbang]
60. Guyz – 귀뚜라미의 노래
82. Rubylight – Winterless – Miiruu Remix (feat. Ji-hoon) [Hyang]
98. Guyz – Farewell (Sunny Acoustic ver.)

See the full top 100 list here.

가이즈(Guyz) - WayfarerRock act Guyz released a mini album called Wayfarer on December 23. Counting 9 tracks in total, the release includes an acoustic version of second album song Sorry.

9와 숫자들 - 9와 숫자들I have absolutely no idea where 9 and the Numbers are coming from, but after having listened through every sample at Hyang Music I can say that they sound absolutely great. The self titled album debut, 9와 숫자들, was released via TuneTable on December 29. There’s a lego music video for 석별의 춤, but 9 and the Numbers also offer more indie rock sounding tunes with lots of psychedelic keyboard sound, and more pronounced synth action as well.

코스모스 (Cosmos) 3집 - Hanei SkyEight years after the release of second full length album Standard, Cosmos returned with Hanei Sky on December 23. Only Kim Sang Hyuk remains from the original members, but if the generous amount of samples at Hyang Music can be trusted, Cosmos is still a band well worthy of any attention it might get.

엘루이즈(Eloise) - 49Pastel Music‘s new indie rock act Eloise debuted with digital single 49 on December 29. Although the single only contains the demo version of the song with the same name, YouTube offers plenty more material. If you want to have a look at the four guys, this promo video from early 2009 could be of interest.

3 Comments Bugs Indie Music Chart w53

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.