Hyang Music Album Chart week 1

Hyang Music Album Chart
For the first time in four months the Hyang Music site finally loaded for me! It’s running a bit slow, but at least I could find the most recent album sales chart:

Hyang Chart – 1st week of January, 2011
1. Jieun and The Wolves오지은과 늑대들
2. Broccoli, you too?졸업
3. IUReal
4. GuckkastenTagträume
5. Michael JacksonMichael
6. 10cmThe First EP
7. Autumn Vacation가을방학
8. GD & TOPHigh High
9. Girl’s GenerationThe 1st Asia Tour – Into The New World
10. Bye Bye SeaCity Complex

The new k-indie oriented additions to the TOP100 list were the following:
12. Joyumn흐르른다
41. ∀xceedGuns & Gypsophila
62. One Punch / Lazy Afternoon사람의 마음 / 어느 가을 밤
73. Song of Luna그댈 향해 노래하는 새
78. The KoxxEnter
80. The FinnnBeatles over Zeppelin
81. CrashThe Paragon of Animals
83. Epitone Project유실물 보관소
90. Hanumpa독감 (獨感)

See the full top 100 list here.

오지은과 늑대들 - 오지은과 늑대들Oh Ji Eun and her wolves released their first self-titled album on December 16. It includes album versions of both songs from last summer’s digital single 미리듣기. The official site offers a sample for album opening track 넌 나의 귀여운! and a couple of Daum videos

On December 7 Guckkasten returned with new EP Tagträume. 5 tracks strong, in addition to the title track includes both an original and an acoustic version of song 붉은 밭 and original and electronic version of song 매니큐어, that has got an MV. wassereis has translated all song descriptions.

안녕 바다 1집 - City ComplexFluxus band ByeByeSea released its first full length album, City Complex, on November 16. It includes both 별 빛이 내린다, main track from the preceding mini album, and a “reprise” of 내 맘이 말을 해. There is now a music video for the latter.

조이엄 (Joyumn) 1집 - 흐르른다Male singer/songwriter Joyumn debuted on Ruby Salon with his first full length album on the very first day of this year, January 1. He plays acoustic guitar and harmonica and from the sound of 그림자 he’s got a bit of a Mot sound going.

Melodic death metal band Axceed self-released an album called Guns & Gypsophila on January 6. It has been mixed and mastered by Terrormight vocalist Lee Ju Hui. The official YouTube channel offers an album preview and plenty of samples more.

In October last year Beatball Records launched a digital singles series starting with a three track single from One Punch called 사람의 마음 on October 14. It was soon followed by a two track single called 어느 가을 밤 from Lazy Afternoon. On December 27 both singles were released on CD.

Female fronted ballad rock band Song of Luna debuted with an EP on December 28. My initial impression that their sound should appeal to fans of Dear Cloud was further strengthened coming across this song featuring Nine9. Much more Song of Luna on ravitworld’s YouTube channel.

2 Comments Hyang Music Album Chart week 1

  1. trina's reality

    Thank you for your blog. I’ve been able to find info about some indie artists that I would not have been able to know more about without Indieful ROK. It’s really hard to find Korean indie music, so thanks ;)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.